Meet the Bloggers

Most blogs are written by a single person but right now we have two bloggers at Dandelions (Toviana and Martha) who keep you informed on what is going on for us. I thought it would be nice to let you know a little bit more about us and our individual interests so you have a better feel for us as you read our posts.

Toviana Jackson

eugene train

My husband, Sean, and I take our daughter, Shiloh (and little Colt on the way) on her first train ride

I have been blogging for Dandelions since the inception of our blog in 2007. As the daughter of owner, Shirley Lyons, I have worked at Dandelions in a variety of capacities (I started by sweeping and dusting for a quarter back in the day) and began designing while in high school. I spent a few years out of state in Minnesota and California and came back to the family business in 2005. Soon I married a wonderful man and have two beautiful children: Shiloh, 3 and Colt, 7 months. I currently keep busy as one of the wedding coordinators at Dandelions and handle aspects of our marketing, website, and other miscellaneous projects I can fit in while chasing children.

When not working I spend time keeping Colt from swiping Shiloh’s toys and hiding the children’s socks from our 100 lb lab who likes to eat them. In the few minutes that remain in my day I also enjoy gardening, crafts, trips to the coast and reading a good book before bed. Each day is an adventure and each evening is a victory that I survived the day!!

easter blue

Shiloh and I

Very pregnant with Colt working on photos of arrangement for the shop

IMG_1256

Little Colt spends his days amongst the vases and flowers and entertaining the staff

Martha Bannikov

Us

My husband, Andrey, and I

While I have been a designer in the flower business for about 10 years, I am new to the Dandelions family. I moved to Eugene from Dallas, TX in September 2012, when I got married,  and a month later, started my first day at Dandelions.

I came into the flower business on a round-about route. I was born and raised in Namibia, Southern Africa, and moved to Texas about 13 years ago. While living there, I took a part-time, very  temporary job (or so I thought at the time) in a little flower shop downtown, fell in love with flowers, and have been in the industry since, working at various shops and learning the ins and outs of the flower business.

superbowl party

Prepping vases for a corporate Super Bowl tent

superbowl party 2

Super Bowl Week 2011 in Texas

Superbowl party 2011

Getting things ready at the warehouse for Super Bowl 2011

Dr Delphinium Painting with a Twist outing 2012

Painting with a Twist outing with Dr. Delphinium 2012

Here at Dandelions, I work on the design team, and a couple of days in the week help Tovi with the marketing and website aspect of the business.

I’m still pretty new to Oregon, so when I’m not at work I spend my free time buried in a book (I’m an avid reader), getting to know my new home town, and exploring the fantastic outdoors that is Oregon.Me

Leave a Reply

